French | English



Established in 1987, the West and Central African Council for Agricultural Research and Development (CORAF/WECARD) comprises the National Agricultural Research Systems of 22 West and Central African member countries in three agroecological zones: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Cote d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone and Togo.


USAIDís West Africa Regional Mission (USAID/West Africa), located in Accra, Ghana, implements innovative regional activities to address the trans-boundary nature of issues as well as activities in countries without a USAID mission. USAID/West Africa supports the areaís development in the following key areas: peace and security, good governance and promotion of free and fair elections, health systems, and economic growth, which includes trade competiveness, agriculture production and food security, and natural resource management

Other Partners

Partners include the Forum for Agricultural Research in Africa (FARA); the Consultative Group for International Agricultural Research (CGIAR); the Regional Economic Communities (ECOWAS, UEAMOA, CEMAC and CEEAC); Inter-Governmental Organizations (INSAH/CILSS); the Advanced Research Institutions (ARIs) and Regional initiative such the West Africa Seed Alliance (WASA) and the Alliance for Green Revolution in Africa (AGRA), and Development Partners.